LES EDITIONS D’UQBAReditions_livres.htmleditions_livres_mediasphere.htmlshapeimage_1_link_0

Beyond the freshly tarmaced road lies only a wasteland. The Ghost Estates cover photography shows that the project envisaged for this plot of land has not come to fruition. It seems that this space should have been occupied by a detached home, completing the cul-de-sac. When the “housing bubble” burst in 2008, activity on building sites suddenly stopped. At this stage, the Irish landscape was already covered by over three thousand unoccupied housing estates. This makes the void shown in the cover picture unusual. Because as soon as you turn the first page of the book, the view is foreshortened. Buildings crowd the space.

Faced with these vestiges of wealth, Valérie Anex turns her camera towards the walls, the hedges, the fences and the advertising signs. She takes stock of the estates, paying close attention to the architecture and its direct links with land development policies. The composition of and repetition in the photographs, as well as the sequence of the images and their interaction with the text, make Ghost Estates a book that documents the process by which new houses become empty husks, left behind like debris. The book thus evokes the dynamic that leads from consumer fetishism to the collapse of an economic system.

The book’s closing image depicts the ghosts of futures imagined. Here, the avatars of the men and woman depicted on the advertising sign remind us of the origins of the ghost estates. Whilst in the past, a ghost town was one which had been abandoned, the ghost towns of today have never been inhabited. The photographs in Ghost Estates cannot make this “new spectre that is haunting the world” visible to the eye. However, they make reference to this compressed passage of time, allowing the reader to reflect on the habitable world.


the editors

Christian Tarabini, Laura von Niederhäusern

GHOST ESTATES


VALERIE ANEX


84 pages, 47 photographs in color

text in French and English

ISBN 978-2-8399-1169-6

Published in april 2013



 

This book had been realised with the support of the City of Geneva, the Republic and Canton of Geneva and the Loterie Romande.

LES EDITIONS D’UQBAReditions_livres.htmleditions_livres_mediasphere.htmlshapeimage_1_link_0

Au bout de la rue, récemment goudronnée, un terrain en friche hante la vue. La photographie en couverture de Ghost Estates indique que la parcelle n’a pas été investie par le projet prévu. A cet emplacement, on suppose qu’une maison pavillonnaire devait fermer le cul-de-sac. Lorsque la dite « bulle immobilière » éclate en 2008, les chantiers s’arrêtent brusquement. Plus de trois mille ensembles résidentiels inoccupés recouvrent déjà le paysage irlandais. En ce sens, le vide sur l’image de couverture fait exception. Car, dès l’ouverture du livre, l’horizon se resserre, l’espace est encombré par les constructions.

Face aux vestiges de la prospérité, Valérie Anex dirige son regard sur les façades, les haies, les clôtures et les pancartes promotionnelles. Elle arpente les lieux, attentive à l’architecture et ses liens directs avec les politiques de développement territorial. Par le sens du cadrage et de la réitération, par la suite des images et leurs articulations avec le texte, le livre Ghost Estates met en exergue le processus de désagrégation des maisons neuves et de simulation des décombres. Il évoque ainsi la dynamique qui va de la marchandise fétichisée à la faillite d’un système économique.

C’est sur le mode du futur antérieur que les avatars d’hommes et de femmes sur la pancarte publicitaire, qui clôt l’ouvrage, rappellent l’origine des lotissements fantômes. Si, autrefois, une ville nommée fantôme était une ville abandonnée, celle d’aujourd’hui n’a jamais été habitée. Les photographies de Ghost Estates ne peuvent rendre visible ce « nouveau spectre qui hante le globe ». Cependant, elles se réfèrent à cette sorte d’écrasement du temps qui ouvre la réflexion du lecteur sur le monde habitable.


Les éditeurs

Christian Tarabini, Laura von Niederhäusern

GHOST ESTATES


VALERIE ANEX


84 pages, 47 photographies en couleur

texte en français et en anglais

ISBN 978-2-8399-1169-6

Parution en avril 2013



 

Cet ouvrage a été réalisé avec le soutien de la Ville de Genève, de la République et Canton de Genève et de la Loterie Romande.